Psalms 19: The Sin of Disbelief


Psalms 19 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible, and David covers a lot of ground in just a few verses. I am only going to cover a small part of it, but, if you don’t normally read along with me, I would encourage you to do it for this one.

Psa 19:12  Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.

Psa 19:13  Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression.

Psa 19:14  Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.

I want to focus on this part because it makes an important point about our sins. There can be secret faults.

Ignorance is not a defense. For example, say no one ever told me that murder was a sin. It would still be wrong to go and murder someone, and I would still be punished by our government. I know that this is kind of a ridiculous example because David knew the Scriptures and clearly would have understood that murder was a sin. However, I think you can understand the main point. Ignorance of a sin does not take away the penalty and certainly does not make it morally acceptable.

This is important because we then need to move into verse 13. We have something that we are calling the great transgression. What exactly is the great transgression?

Earlier in the verse, David asks that sin would not have dominion over him. Then, if sin does not have this position in his life, he will be upright, and he will be innocent from the great transgression.

If he does not have sin in charge of his life, then he must have God in charge of his life.

Rom 6:17  But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered you.

Rom 6:18  Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

You are either slaves to sin or a slave to righteousness. There is not middle ground in this situation. Therefore, if we put everything together that we have seen so far, if we are not committing the great transgression, we must be slaves to righteousness. If we are not slaves to righteousness, we must be slaves to sin, and the way to be a slave to sin is to not be delivered or not believe in Jesus and His death as our salvation as shown in Romans 6:17.

Therefore, the great transgression is disbelief.

I hope that none of you find yourself in this position today. Like I said above, ignorance is not a defense. Think about it.

Posted on December 1, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

