Psalms 39: The Concept of Infinity


Psalms 39 helps put everything in perspective. As someone who has studied quite a bit of mathematics, I am always intrigued by the concept of infinity. It is something that has a definition, but the definition is also partially undefined. We cannot put a value on infinity, but we know that it is greater than any other number in existence that we can put on a number line. However, as soon as you advance to another number, you know what one comes next. In essence then, infinity has no boundary other than itself. It is abstract yet very real.

Why do I mention infinity?

Psalms 39 puts our time on earth into perspective, and for me, it is also a great reassurance of an incredibly bright future.

Psa 39:4  LORD, make me to know mine end, and the measure of my days, what it is; that I may know how frail I am.

Psa 39:5  Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth; and mine age is as nothing before thee: verily every man at his best state is altogether vanity. Selah.

Think about it this way. If you and I are in the same room, you seem to be a certain size. If I move one hundred feet away from you, you haven’t changed in size, but you look smaller because of the distance between us. If I move another hundred feet away, you seem even smaller. If I went a mile away, maybe I could still see you, but you would look like nothing more than a speck on the horizon.

Imagine if I went an infinite number of miles away. You have not changed whatsoever because you are still the same size that you were. However, from my perspective, I can’t even see you anymore. You are infinitely small compared to the distance between us.

In a way, that is how our lives are as compared to infinity. As Christians, we believe that God exists from infinity past to infinity future. Compared to a time span of that width, this time that we spend here on earth is practically insignificant.

I said earlier that this is comforting. I know that our time here on earth is certainly full of difficulties. I have some, and I’m sure that all of you have some as well. When you think about it, approximately 100 years is insignificant compared to this mathematical concept of infinite time. Because of the gift of salvation and the promise of eternal life with God for all those who believe, we receive an infinite time of comfort when our time on earth is done. When we look back, as compared to infinity, our time of difficulty will be a tiny speck on the horizon.

I am not trying to be dismissive of our difficulties here on earth whatsoever. However, I am saying that in comparison, an eternity with God is much more will outshine all of the darkness we experience here.

Think about it. David wanted to know his time on earth so that he had understand how insignificant he was as compared to God. I think that is important and valuable. However, for me personally, this verse does reassure me that God is indeed infinite.

Posted on December 21, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Zak, what a great post from Psalm 39 about infinity! I never thought if it this way! We all have our challenges, but eternity with God is such a wonderful promise, it outshines everything in this world. I often think of Psalms 34:17, about God delivering righteous ones out of their afflictions, rather than from their afflictions. I wish you many blessings, and thank you so much for your enlightening posts and devotions, they always show me more than I thought I knew! God bless you Zak, Toni Poharcyk (-: Higganum, CT meatball54@comcast.net

    TWP

    >

    • Thanks again. I really appreciate how you can gain something out of this. That is really why I am doing it publicly. I personally want to gain something, but if someone else can as well, that is even better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

