Psalms 56: We Were Meant to Be Courageous


I think that we have in general become wrapped up in our condition here on earth, and Psalms 56 advises us not to worry about what earthly life brings because God is in control of our souls.

Psa 56:11  In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid what man can do unto me.

Psa 56:12  Thy vows are upon me, O God: I will render praises unto thee.

Psa 56:13  For thou hast delivered my soul from death: wilt not thou deliver my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of the living?

I know that, because I live in America, I have no firsthand experience with living in an environment where I might be killed for my faith. Believing Christianity might bring other consequences in our culture, but it is not like we are living in life or death peril.

That being said, I think that this passage must be a tremendous encouragement to people who do a live in hostile environments. Their physical bodies are in constant danger, and their lives could possibly end at almost any time.

It is incredibly comforting to know that we don’t need to worry about what might happen on earth. Yes, it might be terrifying at the time, and it certainly might not be what we would want to happen, but we do know that if we are children of God, He has indeed delivered our souls from death.

No matter what may happen on earth, if we are children of God, we will live eternally with Him. That is a pretty amazing thing.

What does that mean for all of us though practically?

Well, for me, if I don’t need to worry about anything that people can do to me or say about me, I ought to be a lot more courageous. Even from my American perspective, if I don’t need to worry about what people think about me as a Christian and what it might do to my reputation, I probably should speak even more boldly. If people think I am crazy for believing Christianity, that shouldn’t worry me. If anything, that should motivate me even more to continue trying to help people understand why Jesus is indeed the way to salvation. I shouldn’t shrink in my seat because I am worried about my precious reputation.

I hope that this passage creates a similar reaction in all of you as well. Anything that might happen on earth is secondary. We need to be concerned with serving God and praising him like David did, and it doesn’t matter what people might do to us or might think about this. This is certainly easier said than done, but it did start the wheels turning in my head.

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

