Psalms 94: Evil Will End


Psalms 94 is another one in a long line of Psalms that tries to make sense of the fact that there are evil people in the world, and the evil people seem to do pretty well. You wonder why God is allowing all of that evil to happen, and it just doesn’t seem to be very just.

Psa 94:3  LORD, how long shall the wicked, how long shall the wicked triumph?

Psa 94:4  How long shall they utter and speak hard things? and all the workers of iniquity boast themselves?

Psa 94:5  They break in pieces thy people, O LORD, and afflict thine heritage.

Psa 94:6  They slay the widow and the stranger, and murder the fatherless.

Psa 94:7  Yet they say, The LORD shall not see, neither shall the God of Jacob regard it.

These people are basically mocking God. They say, “I’m not accountable to anyone, not even God.” Why does God allow that? If someone was always doing that to me, I don’t think I would be very happy either.

However, the rest of the chapter doesn’t really talk about God eliminating evil anytime soon. In fact, here is all that it says right at the end of the chapter.

Psa 94:22  But the LORD is my defence; and my God is the rock of my refuge.

Psa 94:23  And he shall bring upon them their own iniquity, and shall cut them off in their own wickedness; yea, the LORD our God shall cut them off.

God will finish it. Of course, this is consistent with the rest of the Bible. I know that there are different interpretations of end times, and I don’t really want to get into that here, but we all do agree that in the end (as far as I have heard), evil will be no more. Until then, God allows it to exist.

This question hasn’t gone away. People wonder why bad things happen in the world, and the most we draw from this particular passage is that evil does indeed exist. However, we do have the promise that it will be eliminated, and let me leave you with one last shot.

How do we know what evil is anyway? We can only know if we have some kind of objective moral standard. There’s no way you can say that murder is bad without that kind of real measure. The fact that we have that concept of right and wrong is an interesting confirmation of the existence of God. I will not develop that more here, but the existence of evil and consequently objective morality is a very interesting field that I have been reading more and more on.

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Zak! I hope you are well. ‘Your love never fails’ is one of my favorite songs that we sing at church. Your daily posts are very incisive, keep it up, please? (-: God Bless you, Toni Poharcyk, CT

    TWP

    >

    • I’m sorry it took me a little while for me to respond here. Yeah, I really like that song lately as well, and I feel like it has a great message. I really do appreciate you reading and taking time to comment. It does mean a lot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

