Exodus 36: Wisdom Comes from God


In Exodus 36, we are reminded that God is the giver of wisdom.

Exo 36:2  And Moses called Bezaleel and Aholiab, and every wise hearted man, in whose heart the LORD had put wisdom, even every one whose heart stirred him up to come unto the work to do it:

Wisdom is different than knowledge. The evidence of this wisdom is the fact that these men are able to build everything that God had told Moses to build to the exact specifications. Normally, we don’t think of wisdom as being good with our hands. I think that we normally associate wisdom with people who have lived long lives and have a lot of experience. That is one definition of wisdom that I think is totally valid.

In this case though, it seems as if we are talking about something more concrete and practical. If these men were able to build everything to specifications because they had wisdom, it seems to me that wisdom is almost like understanding. They understood what needed to be done and consequently they did it. It isn’t just having a bunch of great advice although I guess that could be wisdom as well.

I think that that is really interesting because if we combine the fact that God is the giver of wisdom with the fact that wisdom helps you understand how to get things done, we can come right back to my favorite Bible verse.

Php 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

If wisdom helps us do things right, and God gives us wisdom, then we cannot get things right by ourselves because we need what God gives.

I think that this idea has numerous applications in our everyday lives. If you think about what we do in everyday life, you probably know that we have to get things done. I know that I live a busy life, and I am sure that a lot of you do as well. However, going from this perspective makes me think.

If we are taking wisdom is the ability to understand what needs to be done and doing it, I think that we need to rely on God much more heavily than we do normally. Sometimes, we get wrapped up in our own decisions, but if we realize that God will equip us with what we need to make the right decisions, I think that will help us all as we relate to people and go about our daily lives. Again, we can’t do it alone, but we can do it with God right with us.

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Exodus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

