Leviticus 12: The Problem of a Sin Nature


Leviticus chapter 12 is incredibly interesting because I think that it definitely has the potential to be vastly taken out of context. This is the type of chapter where many people point to one verse and all of a sudden blow everything out of proportion. However, I want to point you to a particular part in this chapter that I think is overlooked.

Lev 12:6  And when the days of her purifying are fulfilled, for a son, or for a daughter, she shall bring a lamb of the first year for a burnt offering, and a young pigeon, or a turtledove, for a sin offering, unto the door of the tabernacle of the congregation, unto the priest:

One of the main criticisms that people raised about this chapter is that boys and girls are treated differently in verse two and verse five. However, I want to point your attention to verse six where we can see that the sacrifice related to having a boy or a girl is absolutely identical. This is not in any way trying to imply that females are more sinful or some type of punishment.

Since the offering is identical, it follows that the problem must be of the same magnitude.

On that note, I realize that I keep using negative terminology relating to the process of having children, but I keep coming back to the words of David in combination with what we have learned about the fall of man in Genesis chapter 3.

Psa 51:5  Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.

Yes, childbirth is definitely a happy time, but there is some problem there. Another person is now on his or her own in a fallen world that is not at all what God had originally wanted for humanity. I think this is the sorrow that is being referred to in Genesis 3:16.

I think that is also why this chapter refers to the necessity of a sin offering when having a child. Another sinful being has been added to the world, and that sin needs to be atoned for. We are all born with sin nature. There is no avoiding it, and every new life brings to the world as well.

I know that this is a really not the happiest note to the you on, but let me leave you on a much happier note. Jesus died to cover all of our sin for all of eternity. Even though we all have this nature that we cannot avoid, Jesus sacrificed Himself to pay for our debt. That is great news for you and I who can now be saved by the grace of God.

Posted on November 1, 2012, in Leviticus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

