Leviticus 18: Cultural Conflict and Christianity


It is pretty typical for Christians to talk about cultural pressure at least in Vermont where I am from. Certainly, popular culture and Christianity don’t always agree on a lot of issues, but this problem is really nothing new. In Leviticus 18, God tells the Israelites what they need to do when they enter this type of situation.

Lev 18:1  And the LORD spake unto Moses, saying,

Lev 18:2  Speak unto the children of Israel, and say unto them, I am the LORD your God.

Lev 18:3  After the doings of the land of Egypt, wherein ye dwelt, shall ye not do: and after the doings of the land of Canaan, whither I bring you, shall ye not do: neither shall ye walk in their ordinances.

Lev 18:4  Ye shall do my judgments, and keep mine ordinances, to walk therein: I am the LORD your God.

Lev 18:5  Ye shall therefore keep my statutes, and my judgments: which if a man do, he shall live in them: I am the LORD.

I think that that lays it out pretty clearly. No matter what people are doing around us, our highest responsibility is to follow what God says. Of course, that is easy for me to say right now, but it is often harder to express these sometimes unpopular and even contrary opinions.

However, Jesus warned us about this ahead of time, and He realized that it was an inevitable part of Christianity.

Joh 15:18  If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.

Joh 15:19  If ye were of the world, the world would love his own: but because ye are not of the world, but I have chosen you out of the world, therefore the world hateth you.

Joh 15:20  Remember the word that I said unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord. If they have persecuted me, they will also persecute you; if they have kept my saying, they will keep yours also.

Joh 15:21  But all these things will they do unto you for my name’s sake, because they know not him that sent me.

Living the life of a Christian is not a popularity contest, and it is obvious that it wasn’t supposed to be. Living the life of a Christian is more about following the truth of God regardless of where it leads you. We all should be willing to make a declaration like Joshua did in one of the more memorable verses in the Bible.

Jos 24:15  And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.

Posted on November 7, 2012, in Leviticus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That Joshua verse is not only memorable, I find it always inspiring.
    Chick

Leave a Reply

