Leviticus 23: We Cannot Selectively Follow God


I think that Leviticus 23 is pretty interesting because God outlines all of the feasts that the people of Israel needed to honor. However, just because there were a few special days when feasts were mandated, it definitely did not mean that the Israelites could overlook the rest of law.

Lev 23:37  These are the feasts of the LORD, which ye shall proclaim to be holy convocations, to offer an offering made by fire unto the LORD, a burnt offering, and a meat offering, a sacrifice, and drink offerings, every thing upon his day:

Lev 23:38  Beside the sabbaths of the LORD, and beside your gifts, and beside all your vows, and beside all your freewill offerings, which ye give unto the LORD.

The Israelites were not allowed to selectively follow the law. They couldn’t just honor the feasts and sabbaths but forget to give their offerings. The law of God doesn’t work that way.

It is no different for us today. Obviously, we all mess up and do not follow God perfectly all the time. However, just because we do a few things right doesn’t mean that we now have a license to do a few things wrong.

Paul addressed a similar issue in his letter to the Romans.

Rom 6:1  What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?

Rom 6:2  God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

It isn’t like God has given us this license and we need to challenge Him to see how much sin He will actually forgive. Like Paul said, if we are truly Christians, we should not want to sin. We still do sin, and that is definitely an unfortunate side effect of our humanity.

It kind of goes back to what Paul said again.

Rom 7:18  For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

Rom 7:19  For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.

Rom 7:20  Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.

Rom 7:21  I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.

So to connect this all the way back to Leviticus, it is important to remember that we cannot live the Christian life selectively. God wants all of our hearts, and even if we do mess up like we inevitably will, we still can continue to improve and develop a closer relationship with God.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Leviticus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

