Deuteronomy 31: God Promised It; I Believe It


Deuteronomy 31 is the beginning of a transition. Moses is beginning to hand over the leadership of the Israelites to Joshua, but he has a few words to say before he is actually done with his mission.

Deu 31:2  And he said unto them, I am an hundred and twenty years old this day; I can no more go out and come in: also the LORD hath said unto me, Thou shalt not go over this Jordan.

Deu 31:3  The LORD thy God, he will go over before thee, and he will destroy these nations from before thee, and thou shalt possess them: and Joshua, he shall go over before thee, as the LORD hath said.

I like this passage because it speaks directly to the number one problem plaguing Israel and the reason that they had not already claimed the Promised Land.

They were afraid. Even though God had promised them a long time ago that they would have this inheritance, they continued to doubt and worry about everything.

Moses is saying here that you cannot do that anymore. In verse three, he is saying what God will do. Notice that there is no doubt there. He is not talking about what God might do. He knows that God will do it, and he knows that the people of Israel will have their inheritance.

We also have promises from God, and there are hundreds of them interspersed throughout the Bible. Therefore, we do not need to fear either. God does indeed have a plan for our lives. How do I know that?

He promised it. Given His track record on fulfilling promises, I have no reason to doubt.

Isa 41:10  Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Deuteronomy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

