Joshua 14: God Overcomes Boundaries

Joshua 14 reminded me that people can be used by God no matter how old or young they are.

This particular passage focuses on Caleb. At the time of the story, he was 85 years old. He came to Joshua and reminded him of a promise that Moses had made to him.

Jos 14:7  Forty years old was I when Moses the servant of the LORD sent me from Kadeshbarnea to espy out the land; and I brought him word again as it was in mine heart.

Jos 14:8  Nevertheless my brethren that went up with me made the heart of the people melt: but I wholly followed the LORD my God.

Jos 14:9  And Moses sware on that day, saying, Surely the land whereon thy feet have trodden shall be thine inheritance, and thy children’s for ever, because thou hast wholly followed the LORD my God.

Jos 14:10  And now, behold, the LORD hath kept me alive, as he said, these forty and five years, even since the LORD spake this word unto Moses, while the children of Israel wandered in the wilderness: and now, lo, I am this day fourscore and five years old.

Jos 14:11  As yet I am as strong this day as I was in the day that Moses sent me: as my strength was then, even so is my strength now, for war, both to go out, and to come in.

Jos 14:12  Now therefore give me this mountain, whereof the LORD spake in that day; for thou heardest in that day how the Anakims were there, and that the cities were great and fenced: if so be the LORD will be with me, then I shall be able to drive them out, as the LORD said.

Jos 14:13  And Joshua blessed him, and gave unto Caleb the son of Jephunneh Hebron for an inheritance.

I really like this passage. Most people have settled down into retirement by this point, and I would bet that there were people who thought that Caleb was too old to be undertaking this type of mission.  The Anakims, essentially giants, owned the land.

An 85-year-old man decided that he wanted to go to battle against a physically superior force all because he had unwavering faith in God. He knew that God was with them, and because of that, they would have no problem overrunning anyone who got in their path.

I think that that last paragraph summarizes the entire package very well. First of all, even barriers that the earth sometimes defines really do not matter to God. For example, God did not really care that Caleb was 85. He was still totally able to use him. The second main point is that God won’t fail. He is able to overcome any problem that we might run into, so He will help us overcome those problems as well.

Rom 8:31  What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Joshua and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

