Nehemiah 3: God Cares about the Small Things


Nehemiah chapter 3 is basically a long list of all the people who repaired various parts of the walls in Jerusalem. Here is a little example of what most of the chapter looks like.

Neh 3:1  Then Eliashib the high priest rose up with his brethren the priests, and they builded the sheep gate; they sanctified it, and set up the doors of it; even unto the tower of Meah they sanctified it, unto the tower of Hananeel.

Neh 3:2  And next unto him builded the men of Jericho. And next to them builded Zaccur the son of Imri.

We find out who was responsible for what part, and we also find out who worked with and beside them.

I personally think that this attention to detail is pretty impressive. Even though I don’t really see a whole lot of profound theological statements in this chapter, I do see an account that was taken meticulously.

Naturally, I believe that the Bible is a result of divine inspiration, so that level of detail in the text itself makes me think that God also pays quite a bit of attention to the seemingly small things in life. There is nothing too small that He doesn’t care about.

Luk 12:6  Are not five sparrows sold for two farthings, and not one of them is forgotten before God?

Luk 12:7  But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.

It is pretty remarkable.

First of all, God must have a remarkable mind to be able to keep all of these details archived. It cannot be easy to be intricately involved in the lives of every human on earth, but God does it.

Also, I think that that level of detail makes forgiveness even more amazing. If God cares about the details and watches over everything, He also sees all of those “little” sins that we like to sweep under the rug. We do commit a high volume of these, so it makes forgiveness and mercy even more dramatic and massive in scale.

It is impressive. This chapter in Nehemiah goes into remarkable detail, and it tells me that God cares about everything no matter how small. That is a comforting thought.

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Nehemiah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Then, why didn’t God defrost my windshield like I asked him. I as worried I would not get to work safely. My car obviously isn’t working right. I can’t afford to fix it….
    I prayed with my 10 yr old daughter(who asks if God is really real often). I want her to see that God is real, and that he does care/ love all of us. That we need him!
    But, he does nothing for her to see in her small world. In the big picture, he is doing incredible things, in me and her. But I want God to be alive in her….so she knows w/ out a doubt that he is alive and on His throne!

Leave a Reply

