Job 23: Our Limited Understanding


I think that we probably have all said something like Job did in chapter 23. All he really wanted to do was talk to God because that would give him some insight into what was actually happening.

Job 23:3  Oh that I knew where I might find him! that I might come even to his seat!

Job 23:4  I would order my cause before him, and fill my mouth with arguments.

Job 23:5  I would know the words which he would answer me, and understand what he would say unto me.

Notice that his final request is to have understanding about what God would tell him. He would certainly present his case as to why you shouldn’t need to go through all of this, but in the end, the result that he really wanted was to know what God was doing.

I think that we all have this. We all have this desire to want to know more about what God is doing. When we say the Lord’s Prayer, we want God’s will to be done, but we would rather be in on the conversation. We want to know what God is going to do, and, on some level, we want to approve of that plan.

It doesn’t work that way though. We often times need to go through this world on faith. We need to trust that God is who He says He is and that He will also keep His promises. In hindsight, we can look back and understand a little bit more of what we went through since hindsight is always 20-20, but even at that point, we might not totally understand what happened.

There is a reason for that though.

Isa 55:8  For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

Isa 55:9  For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

While we certainly can have a relationship with God and can endeavor to learn more about Him, we are always going to be limited. It is kind of like how you never entirely know another person. Even when you think you know someone, they might do something that you would never expect. We might not understand it, but that is the way of the other person.

Now, take that up a notch. We have roughly the same size mind as any other person. Nevertheless, we cannot always comprehend each other’s thoughts. How much more difficult is it to understand an infinite mind when we cannot even comprehend infinity?

I appreciate Job, and I totally understand what he was saying. I’m sure that all of us have thought the same thing. However, there is a reason why we have a hard time comprehending God’s plan. Even if Job got his request and was told why things happen, that request for understanding would be a little bit more difficult to handle.

Posted on October 24, 2013, in Job and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

