Job 27: What Does the Bible Say?


I want to clarify a very important issue that I think could arise in Job 27. I know that I have said this multiple times, but I have a feeling it is the kind of thing that people would like to cherry pick and consequently shout out about discrepancies in the Bible.

Here is the verse.

Job 27:6  My righteousness I hold fast, and will not let it go: my heart shall not reproach me so long as I live.

I can already hear the objections. Job is claiming that he is righteous, and we all know that the New Testament says that the only man who was righteous was Jesus. Was Job like Jesus? Isn’t the Bible perfect in everything that it says? Isn’t this a contradiction?

No. Yes. No.

First, it is true that no man is entirely righteous outside of Jesus Christ. That is why we needed Him to be the Perfect Sacrifice.

Rom 3:10  As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:

This is a reference to a passage in Isaiah, and Paul was explaining how we do not receive righteousness simply by following the law and that there is no longer an advantage to being Jewish. Salvation is free for all.

Now, no one is righteous, but Job is saying that he is righteous. What is the deal with that?

We need to think about the context here. During this entire book, Job has been continually attacked by his friends who assumed that he must have committed some major sin. They assumed that because they thought that all of the bad things in his life were obviously punishment from God.

Job is responding to that argument. He is not saying that he was righteous for his entire life, but it seems as if his claim is more that he is innocent of the massive evil that he is being accused of.

As it turns out, he was right. No one is ever saying that he was perfect for his entire life, but the Bible does say that in response to this situation, he was indeed righteous.

Job 1:22  In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.

As I think you can tell, this is quite simply not a contradiction. He is not arguing that he had never sinned. He is responding to the charge that his sin brought this on, and it is almost like he is announcing his innocence.

From the beginning of the book, we also know that he did not bring this upon himself. We know that it was the result of God allowing Satan to have his way with Job.

I know that I bring this up a lot, but I know that things can be taken out of context. That is why it is so important to view the Bible as more than just one individual verse. I try to do that as much as I can, and I hope that you do as well.

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

