Job 40: Surrendering to God


Part of me really wants to talk about the controversy of the behemoth in Job 40, but I think that that post would end up sounding a lot like what I wrote yesterday. Instead, I want to focus on the interaction between God and Job.

Job 40:1  Moreover the LORD answered Job, and said,

Job 40:2  Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

Job 40:3  Then Job answered the LORD, and said,

Job 40:4  Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

Job 40:5  Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

Job has basically decided that maybe it would be better if he said nothing. He has realized that he really doesn’t have any reason to correct God. As a human, is he really in any position to criticize the God of the universe?

Remember that this comes after two chapters where God was listing all kinds of things that He can do that humans cannot. In light of all of this evidence, Job has recognized not only the power of God but also his position as simply a human in the world that God is above.

I think that we all can be like that sometimes. We need to get to a point where we simply have to acknowledge that God is God. If we truly believe everything that we constantly say, then there needs to be that surrender. There needs to be the recognition that God is going to work His way, and we might not understand everything that is going on.

This is hard. I want to be in control, and I like to know the answers. Facing this truth essentially forces me to admit that there are always some things that I might not be able to understand. Reality does kind of reinforce this. It is impossible for any one person to know everything about even the way that our universe works, so I really shouldn’t be surprised that we can’t understand everything that God does as well.

Posted on November 10, 2013, in Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

