Psalms 6: Trust God Always


Psalms 6 must have been written by David during a particularly tough time in his life. Read some of the imagery that he pulls out here.

Psa 6:6  I am weary with my groaning; all the night make I my bed to swim; I water my couch with my tears.

Psa 6:7  Mine eye is consumed because of grief; it waxeth old because of all mine enemies.

Obviously, this is an emotional moment for him. Because of all of the pressure around, he simply broke down. As he explained in verse seven, everything that he saw seemed to be creating problems. His eyes were simply taken over by sadness and stress.

Of course, when you find yourself in a position like this, you want to solve the problem and make the situation better. How did David think that this could be done?

Psa 6:8  Depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity; for the LORD hath heard the voice of my weeping.

Psa 6:9  The LORD hath heard my supplication; the LORD will receive my prayer.

Psa 6:10  Let all mine enemies be ashamed and sore vexed: let them return and be ashamed suddenly.

His answer to the problem is God. He doesn’t necessarily lay out exactly how God designed to fix everything, but the main point is that the workers of evil needed to depart because God heard his weeping.

I think that this tells us something important about trusting God. We might not understand everything, and we might not even know how God is going to fix the problem. However, we can be confident.

Beyond that, we can be confident that God is greater than whatever evil we are stuck with. Again, think about the implications of verse eight. The evil people need to depart because God has heard David’s prayer.

That implies that God is above the evil or else there would be no need for the evil people to depart.

I know that we’ve all gone through some tough times, and I would be lying if I told you that they were easy or I enjoyed them. Sometimes, I think we all can get overwhelmed like David did.

This is how to respond. We need to put our trust in God no matter what. I know that is a lot easier said than done, but that is what we are called to do.

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

