Psalms 13: Handling Questions


In Psalms 13, David was a broken man. Just listen to how he begins this passage.

Psa 13:1  To the chief Musician, A Psalm of David. How long wilt thou forget me, O LORD? for ever? how long wilt thou hide thy face from me?

He thought he had been abandoned by God. He felt like God had turned His face away. It is not that he ever doubted the existence of God as evidenced by verse three, but he really had no idea why everything was going the way that it was. Even at the end of the Psalm, it is obvious that he still believes in a good God who loves him. He simply doesn’t understand why things are the way they are and wants that knowledge.

It is interesting why he wants to understand all of these things.

Psa 13:3  Consider and hear me, O LORD my God: lighten mine eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death;

Psa 13:4  Lest mine enemy say, I have prevailed against him; and those that trouble me rejoice when I am moved.

David did not want his questions to interfere with anybody else’s faith. He didn’t want his enemies to be able to say that they had defeated him and by extension God simply because David was having a time of depression. He didn’t want anyone get the impression that he did not believe in God.

Again, like I already mentioned, David would have never said that God did not exist. The very fact that he was talking to God is evidence that he didn’t believe God had all of a sudden disappeared.

However, he was concerned that people would misinterpret him in that way.

It would be a gross misrepresentation though. Let me try to create a parallel situation. I might not be able to explain very much about the nature of electrons, and I might wonder what they are doing and how they work. However, that doesn’t mean that I automatically doubt that electrons exist. I can have questions and still believe in the existence of these particles.

David had enough experiential evidence in his life that he was comfortable having questions and believing in God simultaneously. This isn’t like I am advocating for some kind of anti-intellectual belief system. On the contrary. David was trying to understand what he did not know. He was pursuing knowledge and truth. However, he also clearly understood that having questions about the nature of something is not nearly the same as doubting the existence of something.

Posted on November 25, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

