Psalm 16: Resurrection Prophecy


Psalms 16 is another Messianic chapter. While it doesn’t necessarily make too many claims, when you look at least two of the promises outlined by David in this chapter, it becomes obvious that Jesus Christ is indeed the fulfillment of those promises.

Let me throw you one.

Psa 16:11  Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

When you look at this one, there is a pretty obvious Jesus reference. It refers to the path of life. Jesus said that He was the way. Let me give you another one.

Psa 16:10  For thou wilt not leave my soul in hell; neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

God will not leave our souls in hell. Why? We do not need to worry about it because of the free gift of salvation through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. From this chapter, we know that a method is coming. We might not know the method yet, but God will provide a way.

Even in the first sermon at Pentecost, Peter directly quoted this Psalm as evidence of the fulfillment of prophecy through the resurrection.

Act 2:25  For David speaketh concerning him, I foresaw the Lord always before my face, for he is on my right hand, that I should not be moved:

Act 2:26  Therefore did my heart rejoice, and my tongue was glad; moreover also my flesh shall rest in hope:

Act 2:27  Because thou wilt not leave my soul in hell, neither wilt thou suffer thine Holy One to see corruption.

Act 2:28  Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with thy countenance.

It might not specifically say a lot in this chapter, but here’s what we can say about Psalms 16. God would show us the path of life, and He would also provide a way to avoid eternal death. In fact, both of these things are true about the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

If we take this evidence and add it to the multiple other Messianic prophecies distributed throughout the Old Testament, you can get a pretty comprehensive picture of who Jesus is. From Psalm 16, we get confirmation of two important facts.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

Posted on November 28, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

