Psalms 18: Why Do We Rely on God?


Psalms 18 is a very thankful chapter written by David. He begins by stating his conclusion.

Psa 18:2  The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

Because of everything that is to follow in this chapter, David has concluded that God is all of these things. He is a powerful and personal supreme being who apparently deserves worship or else this Psalm would not have been written.

Then, we are presented with quite a bit of support for this assertion. It begins in the very next verse, and it tells us why God is all of these things listed in verse two.

Psa 18:3  I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.

Psa 18:4  The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.

Psa 18:5  The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me.

Psa 18:6  In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

Basically, there were all kinds of problems floating over David’s head, and he knew that he was overwhelmed. He called upon God because he knew that God was the only way he could ultimately overcome all of these evils.

I think that we really need to think about this every day. Sometimes, we think that our problems are so big that we just have to deal with them as best we can. We have to do it on our own because certainly a good God would not allow all of the suffering and difficulty.

However, that perspective needs to be turned on its head. The only reason we even escape these problems is because of the mercy and power of God. The world is undoubtedly a fallen place. There are all kinds of problems that we have to deal with, and many of them seem far beyond our ability to handle.

It seems to me that God helps us handle these problems every day just like He did for David.

Posted on November 30, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

