Psalms 27: My Light and My Salvation


Psalms 27 presents some pretty popular verses, and when we dive right into it, we find something very interesting.

Psa 27:1  Of David. The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?

I want you to take just the first sentence. God is light and salvation. Therefore, whom shall I fear? As a result of God being light and salvation, this rhetorical question is reconfirming that we have nothing to fear.

What does that mean though that God is our light and our salvation?

Light is a pretty common image in the Bible. For example, Jesus described Himself as the light of the world.

Joh 9:5  As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

Also, we hear about the Bible being compared to a lamp.

Psa 119:105  Nun. Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.

We hear about sin being darkness, and it is pretty obvious that God is the opposite of that which is light. God is perfection, and that is what the light symbolizes here. We do not need to fear because we have the perfect God on our side, and He is greater than anything we might face.

Now, why does salvation cause us not to fear?

One thing is for certain.

Mat 10:28  And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.

We don’t need to worry about anything that can happen to us here on earth. I don’t want to deny that terrible things can happen, and I know that there are a lot of bad things that happen. However, I do want to say that we need to remember that salvation is the ultimate gift. If we have that, then no matter what we face here on earth, living infinitely with God will be worth all of that.

So, why don’t we need to worry? We have the power of God behind us as symbolized by His perfect light. He cannot sin, and He is more powerful than all the darkness that might be around us. Beyond that, we have the gift of salvation. This gift basically goes beyond anything that we might have here on earth. These are two great promises that we can rely on every day.

Posted on December 9, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

