Psalms 28: God Will Hear


David was a man who truly understood that without God in our lives, we are going to find ourselves in difficult situations. Psalms 28 makes a pretty strong statement about that.

Psa 28:1  Of David. To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit.

Basically, without the influence of God in our lives, we are no better off than people who have fallen over and are stuck in the ditch. We are trapped in our situation, and there is no way that we can get out without some outside intervention.

It is a powerful statement then that God is the one who David is calling on to help him get out. There must be something about God that David feels qualifies Him to be the rescuer in this situation.

Psa 28:6  Blessed be the LORD! For he has heard the voice of my pleas for mercy.

Psa 28:7  The LORD is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.

Psa 28:8  The LORD is the strength of his people; he is the saving refuge of his anointed.

Psa 28:9  Oh, save your people and bless your heritage! Be their shepherd and carry them forever.

Essentially, verse one would never happen. That is why David feels so comfortable. God is always listening as he says in verse six. That doesn’t mean that God will always give us the answer that we want, but it does indicate that He will hear us.

Personally, that is what I want to try to focus on from this chapter today. I want to constantly think about the fact that God will hear whenever I call. I can be grateful for that fact because without God, I would basically be someone trapped in a hole that I cannot get out from. That is certainly a blessing for today.

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

