Psalms 31: Ready to Follow God


Psalms 31 is interesting because it continues on the general theme of trusting in God but it takes it to another level. We often times trust God to give us what we want, but listen to how David words it.

Psa 31:14  But I trusted in thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my God.

Psa 31:15  My times are in thy hand: deliver me from the hand of mine enemies, and from them that persecute me.

Psa 31:16  Make thy face to shine upon thy servant: save me for thy mercies’ sake.

I know it is pretty obvious that David wants God to save him from his enemies. That was definitely the preferred outcome, and I would be the same way. However, before he even says what he wants, he says that his times are in God’s hands.

He began in the right place. He certainly knew what he wanted, but he also knew that God was ultimately in the driver’s seat. I think that is what we need to learn from this chapter.

It is okay to have preferences, and it is okay to ask God for a certain outcome. However, within all of that, we need to remember that God will act in the way that He sees fit. We don’t always understand what God is doing, but we can be confident that He is doing His will.

Let me give you another picture of this in practical terms.

Paul really wanted to visit the church in Rome. He wrote a letter to them, and here is what he said right near the end.

Rom 15:30  Now I beseech you, brethren, for the Lord Jesus Christ’s sake, and for the love of the Spirit, that ye strive together with me in your prayers to God for me;

Rom 15:31  That I may be delivered from them that do not believe in Judaea; and that my service which I have for Jerusalem may be accepted of the saints;

Rom 15:32  That I may come unto you with joy by the will of God, and may with you be refreshed.

He had a list of things that he wanted to happen, but he made sure that he ended it by saying that all of this would happen by the will of God. If God had other plans for him, he would be ready to respond. He knew that if God called, his own plans needed to go out the window.

I hope we can live like this. I am a planner, and if you want to know my general life plan, I could tell you a pretty solid outline (I won’t bore you with that here, but take my word for it). Personally, this passage speaks to me because I need to learn to let up on the reins. The plan is fine, but I need to always be aware that God might have a different plan, and I need to be ready to move with that. That is a tough one for me as a strong Type A personality.

Posted on December 13, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

