Psalms 38: Fixing the Problem


I think that we can all relate to Psalms 38 on some level. We have all done something wrong, and many times, we can’t make everything better. Sure, we might be able to patch things up with the person that we hurt, and they might be willing to forgive us. However, there is one thing that we cannot fix.

Sin is a separation from God, and there is nothing we can do to repair that on our own.

Psa 38:3  There is no soundness in my flesh because of thine anger; neither is there any rest in my bones because of my sin.

Psa 38:4  For mine iniquities are gone over mine head: as an heavy burden they are too heavy for me.

The imagery here is pretty strong. Sin is described as a burden, and it creates unrest. David says that he feels like God is angry at him, and he certainly does not seem happy about that.

You would think that if there was anything that David could do about it himself, his certainly would have done it. After all, we generally don’t hold on to unpleasant experiences. We try to get rid of them and make our situation better.

Unfortunately, we can’t really do that with sin.

Psa 38:15  For in thee, O LORD, do I hope: thou wilt hear, O Lord my God.

Psa 38:21  Forsake me not, O LORD: O my God, be not far from me.

Psa 38:22  Make haste to help me, O Lord my salvation.

Now, look at this imagery. God is our hope, and God is our salvation. He is there to help us, and He will hear us. He is the only one who can provide the way out of the dilemma that David had talked about earlier in the chapter.

He was in this trap of sin that was over his head, but he called on God to help him out. He couldn’t do it himself, but he knew that God is able to.

That’s good for you and me as well. I don’t know all of you, and I don’t know everything that is going on in their lives, but I do know that every one of us has done something wrong at some point. We can’t fix that our own, but we do have a good way to get in touch with the One who can.

Posted on December 20, 2013, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Zak, your devotions on Psalms are so true, insightful, and practical in my everyday life, they help me to recognize our desperate need for God, His Holiness, and enduring love, forgiveness of our (So) many sins, and His Creation of Salvation, Christ’s perfection of Salvation, so we can be reconciled to God by His Son’s sacrifice to give us this opportunity for life and His direction for our lives. I’m very thankful for each of your posts. They are one of God’s many gifts to me each day, In Him, Toni Poharcyk, CT (-:

    TWP

    >

    • Thanks so much for reading! I know, that is one thing that I have been getting out of this as well. We really God so badly. Sometimes, I know that I can gloss over this, and I think that I am all right. However, as I read more, I keep finding this idea of being in a situation that I cannot fix myself. It is a powerful thing to think about.

Leave a Reply

