Psalms 50: Where Our Hearts Are at


There are strong words in Psalms 50 for people who give in to the temptations that they face without any type of heart change.

Psa 50:16  But unto the wicked God saith, What hast thou to do to declare my statutes, or that thou shouldest take my covenant in thy mouth?

Psa 50:17  Seeing thou hatest instruction, and castest my words behind thee.

Psa 50:18  When thou sawest a thief, then thou consentedst with him, and hast been partaker with adulterers.

Psa 50:19  Thou givest thy mouth to evil, and thy tongue frameth deceit.

Psa 50:20  Thou sittest and speakest against thy brother; thou slanderest thine own mother’s son.

In this verse, we are talking about all kinds of situations where we could make the right decision, but we didn’t. We saw a thief, but we helped him out. We didn’t need to speak against a brother, but we did anyway.

This is a series of bad decisions.

In verse 16, God is pretty much asking why these people bother to recite the laws or speak about the covenant. They obviously are not doing what it says, so why do they even bother?

I think that this is pretty strong because God understands that we all need His forgiveness. Even as Christians, we still sin from time to time, but we still worship God and claim His covenant of salvation. What is the difference here?

The people described as wicked are hypocrites. Verse 16 implies that they are claiming to be religious, but the rest of the verses I highlighted indicate that they haven’t changed anything. The behavior is still the same as it was before, and it seems like they are only being religious for the outside show.

That is what we want to try to avoid. I’m not saying that we need to be perfect in order to be Christians because, in that case, I would definitely be thrown off that boat, but I am saying that there needs to be more to our beliefs than simply claiming that we can recite some basic truths. We need to have sincere effort as we are following God.

I can say plenty of things, but I can also say them without them actually being true. For a ridiculous example, I can say that I like lettuce. My mouth is capable of forming those sounds, and I could talk like someone who really does enjoy that food. However, that would not be a true reflection of my actions because I never eat it; I don’t like it. My words are not matching up with my actions.

This is kind of what we’re talking about here. We need to understand that we can’t have this kind of pretending. We can’t pretend to be religious on the outside but not have anything on the inside. It might fool the people here on earth, but it won’t fool God. He can look right through us and understand where we are really at in relation to him.

Posted on January 1, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

