Psalms 55: God Is Our Help


In Psalms 55, we find David in a very sad state. He is obviously incredibly upset by everything that is going on in his life, and he knows that the only way out of it is through the power of God.

Psa 55:1  To the chief Musician on Neginoth, Maschil, A Psalm of David. Give ear to my prayer, O God; and hide not thyself from my supplication.

Psa 55:2  Attend unto me, and hear me: I mourn in my complaint, and make a noise;

Psa 55:3  Because of the voice of the enemy, because of the oppression of the wicked: for they cast iniquity upon me, and in wrath they hate me.

Psa 55:4  My heart is sore pained within me: and the terrors of death are fallen upon me.

Psa 55:5  Fearfulness and trembling are come upon me, and horror hath overwhelmed me.

Psa 55:6  And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! for then would I fly away, and be at rest.

Psa 55:7  Lo, then would I wander far off, and remain in the wilderness. Selah.

He begins by saying that he needs God to listen to him because the voice of the enemy is so strong. He is terrified, trembling and all-around miserable. He wishes that he was a bird because then he could simply fly away from all of his problems and finally have rest.

That is what I want you to notice about this one. Ultimately, David wants God to hear him so that he can finally be at rest. Outside of God, we are going to have a hard time finding that peace. We can’t run away from every problem in our lives just like David could not fly away from every problem. The only way that we can then make it through these difficult times is if we have someone come along beside us.

I hope I’m making this clear. That is where God does his best work. One of my favorite Bible verses makes this explicitly obvious.

Php 4:13  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

We can even make it through these difficult times that David is talking about. It isn’t that we can do some things through Jesus, but we can do all things.

David knew what it was like to face difficult times, and he knew that he couldn’t just run away from them. He knew that he needed to trust in God, and I think that is a good example for us to follow.

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

