Psalm 61: Praising an Unchanging God

Psalms 61 reminds us of many things that we have to be thankful for. After reading many Psalms written by David, it is fair to say that he had plenty of difficult times in his life, but when you read something he wrote like this, you realize that he also spent a good amount of time praising God too.

Psa 61:1  To the chief Musician upon Neginah, A Psalm of David. Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.

Psa 61:2  From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

Psa 61:3  For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.

Psa 61:4  I will abide in thy tabernacle for ever: I will trust in the covert of thy wings. Selah.

Psa 61:5  For thou, O God, hast heard my vows: thou hast given me the heritage of those that fear thy name.

Psa 61:6  Thou wilt prolong the king’s life: and his years as many generations.

Psa 61:7  He shall abide before God for ever: O prepare mercy and truth, which may preserve him.

Psa 61:8  So will I sing praise unto thy name for ever, that I may daily perform my vows.

Look at everything that he attributes to God. He says that God is a shelter and strong tower. David is going to live with Him forever implying an eternal God. He is one that David is willing to trust in. He hears our vows which demonstrates that He is active and involved. He gives us the heritage of believers. We have a community of people who love God’s corporately.

As much as David could praise God for all of the things, we can do the same thing. All of these promises are relevant today. The Bible didn’t come with some kind of expiration date. In fact, we know that God doesn’t change.

Psa 102:26  They shall perish, but thou shalt endure: yea, all of them shall wax old like a garment; as a vesture shalt thou change them, and they shall be changed:

Psa 102:27  But thou art the same, and thy years shall have no end.

If God doesn’t change, He is willing to do everything for us that He did for David. He is still in the business of being a shelter and strong tower. He is still eternal. All of these things about God have not changed, and I am personally very happy about that.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

