Psalms 62: God Is Our Salvation


Psalms 62 refers to our entire dependence on God and how He is indeed our only salvation.

Psa 62:5  My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.

Psa 62:6  He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved.

Psa 62:7  In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.

Psa 62:8  Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.

I want to pull out the phrase that God alone is our rock and salvation. In other words, salvation only comes through God. The religious exclusivism stands out immediately. David did not say that following God was one option for salvation. He said that God was the only way.

Jesus Himself reemphasized that when He was on earth.

Joh 14:6  Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Jesus said that He was the only way to the Father, and it wasn’t like He built in a provision that said that there is another suitable alternative. All it would take is a change of an article to radically change the meaning of this entire passage. If Jesus said that He was “a way” instead of “the way”, we could have a different interpretation. However, that is not what it says.

People don’t like this kind of exclusivism in the world today. People don’t want to hear that we have to take a definite stance on an issue. People are more comfortable saying that there are no wrong answers and everyone’s just as right as everyone else.

As Christians, we need to keep our perspective. If we are going to believe the Bible is true, we have to deal with this issue somehow. We have several exclusive statements, and I don’t know how we can come to any other conclusion other than the fact that Christianity cannot exist as one of many paths to God.

Posted on January 13, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

