Psalms 71: The Benefit of Experience


I am 22 years old, and I certainly know more about God and about the world in general than I did when I was 12 years old. However, I don’t know nearly as much as I will when I am 92. That is one thing that stood out to me as I was reading through Psalms 71.

Psa 71:17  O God, thou hast taught me from my youth: and hitherto have I declared thy wondrous works.

Psa 71:18  Now also when I am old and grayheaded, O God, forsake me not; until I have shewed thy strength unto this generation, and thy power to every one that is to come.

We are talking about a lifetime of faith here. From youth all the way to old age, we can certainly continue proclaiming the greatness of God. In fact, once we get old, we have even more opportunities to show how great God really has been. Think about having 80 years of experience that you can look back on through the benefit of hindsight.

We don’t always understand what we are going through at the time, but when we do go back into our memories, it is easier to see how God was working in certain situations. I have learned that already, and I don’t have nearly that much life experience. However, I can look back and see things from a different perspective than I did at the time.

There is also the implication here that we are supposed to pass this knowledge on. We need to show what God has done for us to future generations. Obviously, we can pass on the testimony of the Bible, but we can also share personal stories. We can explain how God was looking out for us specifically in particular situations over the years. Again, with a lifetime of experience, we should be able to have a plethora of examples that we have a responsibility to share.

If God was good to us, shouldn’t we be interested in telling other people about it? We can do that all throughout our lives. You’re never too old to share your faith.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

