Psalms 91: It’s a Relationship


It seems like everything today is a question of, “What’s in it for me?” Now, I don’t think that this is the correct way to view Christianity, but Psalms 91 does indeed lay out some of the consequences that we can expect as followers of God.

Psa 91:14  Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

Psa 91:15  He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

Psa 91:16  With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

Again, we are talking about our relationship here. It is not only about what is in it for me, but it is about the relationship. We see that in verse 14. We love God, and we desire to learn more and more about Him. In return, God will be watching out for us. He will answer when we call (which incidentally is different than giving us everything we want), and He will be with us in trouble and deliver us through. Obviously, it does not mean that we will avoid all trouble, but God will be with us and help us through it.

You see, the correct question is not asking what’s in it for me. God does certainly does promise to help us, but it is in the context of a relationship. God is not a vending machine. You don’t put in two dollars and have a miracle come out. Verses 15 and 16 follow from verse 14 where we learn that there is something going both ways here.

I hope this makes sense. Being a Christian is not just taking from God when it is convenient. It is a commitment from our side to do our best to live according to His will.

By the way, as a side note, the song for today is one that my chorus used to perform in high school and is drawn directly from the beginning of this chapter.

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi! The line “God is not a vending machine,” is a great reminder for me today. Sometimes, I’m guilty of asking what is in for me when I do something for God. I have to be reminded from time to time that God’s not Santa.

    Thanks.

    If you’ve time, here my blog: http://thelovelycup.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

