Psalms 109: Attention Seeking


Psalms 109 shows us something interesting about the attention that we should seek while we are here on Earth. However, it doesn’t do that by saying that we are excellent human beings who should naturally draw people to ourselves. We don’t necessarily have perfect personalities or all the charisma in the world. Rather, we are in pretty difficult shape, and we don’t deserve the attention. God is the one who has saved us.

Psa 109:22  For I am poor and needy, and my heart is wounded within me.

Psa 109:23  I am gone like the shadow when it declineth: I am tossed up and down as the locust.

Psa 109:24  My knees are weak through fasting; and my flesh faileth of fatness.

Psa 109:25  I became also a reproach unto them: when they looked upon me they shaked their heads.

Psa 109:26  Help me, O LORD my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

Psa 109:27  That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, LORD, hast done it.

We don’t share our testimonies because we are some kind of super people. We share our testimonies because it tells other people about what an amazing God can do.

This is a tough one for us. In general, humans like attention, and we want other people to think highly of us. We want to have a good reputation. We want people to think that we can do it all on our own and that we had some kind of independent spirit.

However, that is not what we are called to do. We are called to tell people that it is God’s work that makes the difference rather than what we do on our own. That calls for the removal of pride and the growth of humility.

We are here to magnify God not magnify ourselves.

Posted on March 1, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

