Psalms 110: Messianic Prophecy


Although I understand that it is disputed by some, Psalms 110 seems to be very strongly messianic, and we see quite a bit of evidence to support this conclusion.

Psa 110:1  A Psalm of David. The LORD said unto my Lord, Sit thou at my right hand, until I make thine enemies thy footstool.

First, David is referring to someone as “my Lord.” I don’t know who he would be talking about. Perhaps this could have been written about Saul before they had their falling out, but that would not make a lot of sense given the next phrase.

God is telling this person to sit at His right hand. Who is the only one who belongs at the right hand of God?

Luk 22:67  Art thou the Christ? tell us. And he said unto them, If I tell you, ye will not believe:

Luk 22:68  And if I also ask you, ye will not answer me, nor let me go.

Luk 22:69  Hereafter shall the Son of man sit on the right hand of the power of God.

This was said by Jesus shortly before His crucifixion as He was standing before Pontius Pilate. It seems to me then that this claim in the first verse of Psalms 110 is on relatively solid messianic ground. I don’t know who else could have filled both of these criteria.

What is even more interesting is that when we continue in that chapter in Luke, the Jewish people knew what this was referring to.

Luk 22:70  Then said they all, Art thou then the Son of God? And he said unto them, Ye say that I am.

Luk 22:71  And they said, What need we any further witness? for we ourselves have heard of his own mouth.

This is what they needed to condemn him. It was an obvious claim to divinity in the eyes of the people at that time. They knew that when he put Himself on the right hand of God, He was fulfilling a messianic prophecy. However, that was seen as blasphemy.

Prophecy is one of the most interesting things about Jesus. He fulfilled many, many of them was an incredible degree of precision.

Posted on March 2, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

