Psalms 116: A Direct Line


Psalms 116 begins with an important statement. The author explains that, “I love the Lord.” Now, the rest of the Psalm advances to talk about why God deserves to be loved.

Psa 116:1  I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.

Psa 116:2  Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.

Psa 116:3  The sorrows of death compassed me, and the pains of hell gat hold upon me: I found trouble and sorrow.

Psa 116:4  Then called I upon the name of the LORD; O LORD, I beseech thee, deliver my soul.

The first few verses refer to prayer. It is pretty important, and is when you seriously think about it, it is a pretty amazing privilege. Let me propose a kind of analogy. Here in the United States, I can’t just pick up the phone and call President Barack Obama. He is a very busy man, and he has an entire country to run. He’s only human, and he can’t possibly talk to every person who wants to talk to him every day. He might want to, but he would just run out of time and energy.

How much more impressive than is it that we have a God who we can talk to every day whenever we want? However, He is President of the universe if you will. He is the King over everything. Every person on earth can pray simultaneously, and God does not have those kinds of human constraints. It is not like His phone line will be busy, or He needs to get a few hours of sleep at night.

When you compare the direct line we have to God as compared to what we have with anyone on earth, there really is no comparison. God hears our individual voices, and that is why we should call on Him even in times when it is hard. He will always hear us.

Posted on March 8, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

