Psalms 130: The Gift of Forgiveness

I think that we can take forgiveness for granted, but when you read Psalms 130, you have to think about how great a privilege it really is.

Psa 130:3  If thou, LORD, shouldest mark iniquities, O Lord, who shall stand?

This verse is very adequate starting point. There is no possible way that we would be able to stand up to all of our sins. I don’t think it is very hard for most of us to think about times that we have messed up or done something wrong. As unfortunate as it is, it is hard to deny that reality.

Psa 130:4  But there is forgiveness with thee, that thou mayest be feared.

Psa 130:5  I wait for the LORD, my soul doth wait, and in his word do I hope.

Psa 130:6  My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: I say, more than they that watch for the morning.

Psa 130:7  Let Israel hope in the LORD: for with the LORD there is mercy, and with him is plenteous redemption.

Psa 130:8  And he shall redeem Israel from all his iniquities.

Despite all of that sin that I just talked about, there is forgiveness in God. This chapter never says that we need to have under a certain number of bad marks in order to qualify for forgiveness. It simply says that forgiveness is in God. Our hope for forgiveness is placed in the one who rules the universe and created everything.

It really is an amazing gift if you think about it. God is certainly not obligated to forgive us. He would be well within His rights to say that we don’t deserve forgiveness. We should reap the consequences of the lives that we have created. However, God did not do that. He provided His Son as a perfect sacrifice to forgive all the rest of humanity for all time.

It is pretty amazing that we have that hope.

Posted on March 22, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Forgiveness, widely talked, yet not widely walked, is nothing short of nourishment for an overburdened heart. Releasing me, as well as you from a place neither of us wants to be. In a word… freedom.
    Within a compassionate heart, I notice you matter in every situation. This in itself is salvation, releasing me from something that would otherwise eat me up from the inside out.
    By putting myself above no one alleviates digestive distress, therefore enables me to process this very large meal I’ve just been served, in a way I won’t later regret.
    Through the mirror of self recognition, I’m unable to think what you do is worse than what I do. That my hurt, hurts more than yours. And its through this thoughtful heart, I secure a safe path for both of us through the foibles of life, keeping us equally yoked… equally blessed.

    • Thanks for sharing. I think that is very important for us to learn to forgive each other as well. How many times did Jesus say that we should forgive someone who trespasses against us?

Leave a Reply

