Psalms 132: On the Eternal Throne


Psalms 132 seems to have a Messianic feeling in the middle of it. I am not 100% sure if it was intended that way, so feel free to disagree with me below, but listen to how everything fits together very obvious and powerfully.

Psa 132:11  The LORD swore to David a sure oath from which he will not turn back: “One of the sons of your body I will set on your throne.

Psa 132:12  If your sons keep my covenant and my testimonies that I shall teach them, their sons also forever shall sit on your throne.”

Notice that there is a condition here for the occupancy of the entire throne. There was a kind of moral responsibility that needs to be fulfilled.

It says that if the sons of David want to be on the throne forever, they need to keep the covenant of God. That is significant. That changes the entire ballgame.

The reason that I argue that this is somewhat Messianic is because Jesus fulfills the condition, and He has earned the reward already. First of all, he was in the lineage of David. That seems to be necessary from verse 11.

However, the more important part is from verse 12. He is the one who is able to live a life without sin. He is the one who we also know is sitting at the right hand of God forevermore.

Do you at least where I am thinking on this one? We have passage that tells us that a child of David has the potential to establish an eternal throne based on following the law of the Lord. I know of only one person who was able to do that, and I figured I would point that out today.

Posted on March 24, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

