Psalms 140: Handling Difficult People


Today’s topic from Psalms 140 is rather obvious. There are people out there who want to mess with your life. There are people who might not like you for whatever reason, and sometimes it is even unprovoked. Maybe you did nothing “wrong”, but someone just doesn’t like your personality or the way you go about your everyday life.

How are we supposed to handle these people? We can try to be nice to them; in fact, we should be nice to them. However, that doesn’t necessarily solve our problem. We still might have to deal with these people. As nice as we are, we need a plan as to how we are going to handle these situations.

Psa 140:4  Keep me, O LORD, from the hands of the wicked; preserve me from the violent man; who have purposed to overthrow my goings.

Psa 140:5  The proud have hid a snare for me, and cords; they have spread a net by the wayside; they have set gins for me. Selah.

Psa 140:6  I said unto the LORD, Thou art my God: hear the voice of my supplications, O LORD.

Psa 140:7  O GOD the Lord, the strength of my salvation, thou hast covered my head in the day of battle.

It is interesting that David went directly to God. That tells me a few things. First, it tells me that David believed that God was able to be actively involved in his life. He didn’t believe in a God who was simply a great clockmaker.

Second, this tells me that David believed that God was more powerful than humanity. If God was able to protect David from the enemies that he could not protect himself from, then it seems as if logic necessitates that God is more powerful than both David and his enemies.

Finally, it tells me that God cares about people. David kept coming back to God because he understood that God cared about him. It was a good place to put his trust because it had never failed him before, and he knew that God would not fail him in the future.

We can learn a lot from this chapter about how to handle difficult people in our lives. Mainly, we bring the problem to God. He is involved, He is powerful, and He cares about us. The evil fades away in comparison to our God.

Posted on April 1, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

