Psalms 142: Have a Relationship with God


Psalms 142 was apparently written while David was hiding in the caves presumably from Saul unless that type of hiding happened at other times in his life. This was obviously a difficult time for him, and I can only imagine the stress that running for his life created. He knew that he needed to look for divine assistance because relying on himself or other people wasn’t working out all that well.

Psa 142:4  I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul.

Psa 142:5  I cried unto thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

I am not going to say that I have experienced this level of human abandonment. I know that there are people that care about me, and I am incredibly grateful for that. However, I think that the general premise applies across the board.

Even if we have these people who care about us, they still cannot care about us on the level that God does. The difference is that people cannot be our refuge. Other people are not watching over the entire world. Sure, our friends and family can come alongside us and support us when we have difficult times. They can encourage us, and they can love us. I don’t want to diminish that whatsoever. That is a very important thing that we are called to do for one another.

However, God is different. He has the power to do what no human can do. He also has the perspective to see what we might not be able to see. For example, I know that it is a cliché, but I do believe that difficult times can be used by God to make us better people. I think that we learn through trials. We might not understand everything at the time, but as the eternal God, He is able to help us through that time and teach us what we ought to learn.

Again, I don’t think I have experienced the entire abandonment that David had felt in this Psalm, but despite that, I think we can all relate to the sentiment. Having a relationship with God is different than having a relationship with other people.

Posted on April 3, 2014, in Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Zak. This is very timely for many of us who are facing a hard challenge. As you said, maybe not as hard as the one David faced, but hard for us. One other thing I thought about as I was reading you points – God is the only one who really knows everything about us and still gives us his love when he doesn’t have to. That, for me, is a great inspiration that I know I can always turn to him when I am in need. As someone once said, “God is always more ready to hear our prayers than we are ready to pray to Him.” No wonder David felt like he could turn to God when everyone else turned away from him. Take care, Chick

    • Thanks a lot. I like how you put that. God gives us this love, and He certainly doesn’t have to. It is kind of funny. Even the most loving person on earth has a limit that you can push them to, but God doesn’t have that boundary. That’s also comforting to me.

Leave a Reply

