Proverbs 15: A Reminder for Myself


I know that I write a lot for you, and Proverbs 15 reminded me of something that I always need to keep at the forefront of my mind. The reason for that is because when I write for you, I hope that I am able to provide something of value. I am not claiming to be the greatest theologian of all time, and I would rather be thought of as a lay-person who is reading the Bible with the intention of learning rather than the intention of telling you everything I already know.

However, in this process of learning, there are times I need to do research, and there are times I need to seriously think about what I am about to write. Some issues are complicated, and some theological positions require more than a surface level understanding.

That is where this verse from Proverbs comes in.

Pro 15:28  The heart of the righteous ponders how to answer, but the mouth of the wicked pours out evil things.

I don’t just want to write for you for the sake of putting something on the page. Obviously, I have committed to writing every day, but I need to remember that it should not be hasty. I need to seriously ponder how I am communicating and what I am communicating. The last thing I want to do is pour out evil things because I did not seriously try to understand what God was communicating through these passages.

Again, I don’t claim to be a perfect theologian, and if you haven’t found something already, I am sure that there is some point where we will disagree on a certain Biblical interpretation.

However, I think that the message of this Proverb hits right near home at least for me. I hope that I can remember that I’m not just writing for the sake of putting words on the page. I am writing because I think the Bible is important, and I think it is important for people to engage with the material from the word of God.

Before writing anything or even speaking, we always ought to remember that a little bit of thought and contemplation will help. It is important to make sure that we are communicating what we intend.

Posted on April 26, 2014, in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love this verse. What a great reminder!

Leave a Reply

