Proverbs 19: Following the Plan of God


I am a planner. I like to know where I am headed and know what I am going to be doing. I don’t necessarily mind modifying my plans, but I like to at least have that blueprint in my mind. Proverbs 19 talks about blueprints as well, but it doesn’t necessarily put a lot of value in my blueprints.

Pro 19:21  There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the LORD, that shall stand.

I know this from experience. There are plenty of plans that run through my mind. I have all kinds of things I think about doing or might want to do. Some of them are great things, and some of them are kind of average. Admittedly, I know that there are some plans makes that never should be made at all because they are simply a waste of time.

All of these plans hurry through my mind, but very few of them are acted on. However, I still think that I fit the first part of that verse. There are many things that go through my mind and my heart. There are plenty of things that I want to do or want to say.

The second part is interesting. Out of all of these ideas that go through my mind, I wonder what percentage of them actually work. Which ones are actually good for me to act on? I bet most of them are not that great. As much as I like to make all these plans, I don’t know how well my own counsel goes.

This proverb is claiming that God’s plan will actually stand. It won’t be like my millions of plans that are not all that great all the time. His plan will do more than my plan could ever do. That really makes me more comfortable trusting in God. I know from experience how well my plans work or do not work, but what if I can follow the plan of God? I am following a plan that will work out. That sounds a lot better to me.

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Proverbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

