Song of Solomon 3: Commitment


Song of Solomon 3 begins with kind of a sad picture. The woman wakes up at night and realizes that Solomon is not beside her. She got very upset about this and decided that she had to go on a mission to find him.

Son 3:1  By night on my bed I sought him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.

Son 3:2  I will rise now, and go about the city in the streets, and in the broad ways I will seek him whom my soul loveth: I sought him, but I found him not.

Son 3:3  The watchmen that go about the city found me: to whom I said, Saw ye him whom my soul loveth?

Son 3:4  It was but a little that I passed from them, but I found him whom my soul loveth: I held him, and would not let him go, until I had brought him into my mother’s house, and into the chamber of her that conceived me.

I think this is clearly a picture of commitment. The woman was not willing to rest until she knew where Solomon was. You could argue that this is slightly obsessive, but I assume that this was entirely unexpected. It was not like she didn’t trust him or anything, but she truly did not know where he was and was obviously very concerned.

It is also evident that this was not some kind of simple task. She talks about going out into the streets and all around the city. She is speaking with the night watchman, but no one had seen Solomon. I’m sure that part of that elevated her concern.

I think we need to have this type of commitment in our relationship to God, and of course in our human relationships as well. We can’t just let people go like that. Sometimes people have to go away for time, and that is perfectly understandable, so I don’t mean that you need to keep people in your house forever. I am more talking about the concept here. In either of these two types of relationships, there needs to be that desire to be together. I think that is clear through this passage.

Posted on May 27, 2014, in Song of Solomon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

