Song of Solomon 5: Handling Adversity


Song of Solomon 5 finds our lady wondering where her husband is again. Interestingly, the results are a little bit different than they were last time.

Son 5:5  I rose up to open to my beloved; and my hands dropped with myrrh, and my fingers with sweet smelling myrrh, upon the handles of the lock.

Son 5:6  I opened to my beloved; but my beloved had withdrawn himself, and was gone: my soul failed when he spake: I sought him, but I could not find him; I called him, but he gave me no answer.

Son 5:7  The watchmen that went about the city found me, they smote me, they wounded me; the keepers of the walls took away my veil from me.

In chapter three, the watchmen were willing to help out, but this time, they seem to be very upset with her. It does not specify why the results are different, but the commentary by John Gill suggests that perhaps the men took her to be a prostitute. Perhaps all of the perfume and obvious preparation she had gone through for her husband made the men suspicious of her true motives.

Regardless of whether they thought that or not, they still beat her up for no apparent reason. It seems like she was just looking for her husband and was not creating any type of raucous. I think that we all have been in a situation like this before. We have one type of intention, but other people misinterpret what we’re really trying to do, and we get hurt because of it.

What do you do with that?

Mat 5:38  Ye have heard that it hath been said, An eye for an eye, and a tooth for a tooth:

Mat 5:39  But I say unto you, That ye resist not evil: but whosoever shall smite thee on thy right cheek, turn to him the other also.

Mat 5:40  And if any man will sue thee at the law, and take away thy coat, let him have thy cloke also.

Basically, we need to keep reins on our retaliation. This does not mean that we don’t look for justice. Throughout the Bible, there are many judges who helped handle disputes like this in a fair manner, but here we are counseled not to retaliate.

Of course, the woman in our story probably was not in much of a position to retaliate anyway given that there were multiple watchmen and just one of her. However, the principle remains the same. We can certainly seek justice, but we are not supposed to seek retaliation. It is a fine line.

Posted on May 29, 2014, in Song of Solomon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

