Isaiah 43: Who God Is


In Isaiah 43, we are observing a conversation between God and the people of Israel. Most of these things seem to apply specifically to the people of Israel and the promises that were given throughout the generations, but there is a passage right in the middle where God is defining some of His own characteristics. I think this helps us learn quite a bit about who God is.

Isa 43:10  Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.

Isa 43:11  I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour.

Isa 43:12  I have declared, and have saved, and I have shewed, when there was no strange god among you: therefore ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, that I am God.

Isa 43:13  Yea, before the day was I am he; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand: I will work, and who shall let it?

First, it is interesting that we get a strong statement of monotheism. There was no god before God, and there were none that were created after. This would have come into direct conflict with many of the world religions at the time. For example, when you look at Egyptian deities, there were parents and children who were all part of their pantheon. There were generations of these supreme beings. Judaism, and by extension Christianity, is distinctly different. There is one God who exists as an eternal Trinity. It is not as if God the Father was around first, and Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit followed after. They are the Trinity.

Verse 11 also stands out because of the emphasis on savior. I immediately want to jump on this and say that it is a Messianic prophecy, and I suppose that it could be. However, I think that it is more consistent with the chapter to interpret this as God being the savior of the people of Israel many times throughout their history. For example, He saved them from Egypt. I think that from our perspective, God certainly did provide a Savior, and I am not denying that whatsoever. However, I think we need to be careful with jumping to conclusions even if they are true in the way.

Verse 12 compliments verse 10 very well. God points out that there were no foreign gods that the Israelites were worshiping when they saw these saving acts. How could you attribute it to anyone else? Who else could have done the saving? After all, if God is truly the only God as we talked about at the beginning, and there are no other options.

God is the one and only God, and He was the God of Israel, and He is still the God of the universe today. Doesn’t this kind of stand out to you? God told us who He is, and that ought to cause us to reflect.

Posted on July 14, 2014, in Isaiah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

