Isaiah 48: From the Past to the Future


I am absolutely loving all of the ways that God describes Himself throughout the book of Isaiah, and chapter 48 is no different.

Isa 48:12  Hearken unto me, O Jacob and Israel, my called; I am he; I am the first, I also am the last.

Isa 48:13  Mine hand also hath laid the foundation of the earth, and my right hand hath spanned the heavens: when I call unto them, they stand up together.

We haven’t talked a lot about the eternality of God, but it is both incredibly simple and incredibly complex. By simple, I mean that God existed forever. He will continue existing forever. There is nothing overly complicated about that. It might seem hard to believe, but it is at least not confusing.

The complex part comes when you begin to combine that characteristic of eternality with something like omniscience. It is hard to understand from a human perspective. Let’s go into a little thought experiment.

I have been conscious during my entire time on earth except of course when I was sleeping. However, during the entire time of my existence, I have been observing the world around me, and I have taken in quite a bit of information. I don’t remember all of that information though. I could be omniscient in theory about my past; I have been observing it all, and the information was in my mind at one point. I am not omniscient though about my past. This didn’t even say anything about my future which is an entire mystery.

God has been around for much longer than I have been. I can’t remember things that happened five years ago, but God can remember everything from eternity past. That is pretty hard to fathom. What kind of mind can do something like that?

There are people who claim that they can see the future. However, those claims never really seem to hold water. They undoubtedly have gaps in that knowledge that I highly doubt is there anyway. The claim we get here from God is that He also has unlimited knowledge of the future. That is a pretty bold claim, but we do have some evidence that this is true. Consider the fulfillment of Old Testament prophecy in the person of Jesus Christ.

God was there in the beginning, and He will be there in the end. It is just kind of mind blowing to think about someone who has perfect knowledge of all of history when our finite minds can hardly remember what happened yesterday. How much greater is the mind of God?

Posted on July 19, 2014, in Isaiah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

