Isaiah 49: God of Forgiveness


Isaiah 49 is interesting because when I started reading the chapter, I wasn’t quite sure if the subject was Isaiah himself or Jesus Christ. However, as you move farther in the chapter, you run into this verse which I think puts this beyond doubt.

Isa 49:6  And he said, It is a light thing that thou shouldest be my servant to raise up the tribes of Jacob, and to restore the preserved of Israel: I will also give thee for a light to the Gentiles, that thou mayest be my salvation unto the end of the earth.

I think that this is really a great mission statement that essentially sums up why Jesus came to earth. In modern times, if you run a business, you probably have a mission statement outlines what your company is about. I would nominate this for Jesus’.

First, it affirms that He would be Jewish. Obviously, that ended up being historically accurate. It might not be mind-blowing, but I think it is worth pointing out.

Second, Jesus was going to restore Israel. Just like all of us, the people of Israel were sinners. They needed to be restored, but Jesus was also brought to be a light for the Gentiles as well. That’s important about the mission of Jesus. He came for the Jewish people and for the Gentiles, and He did that to bring salvation to the ends of the earth.

That is a large misconception that I feel like we come across. Some people don’t think that Jesus came for them. You hear it all the time. “God could never forgive me after all that I’ve done.” That is simply not true.

God is a God of forgiveness, and we all have the ability to come to Him and find that. He sent Jesus Christ to the world to provide that for us.

Posted on July 20, 2014, in Isaiah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

