Isaiah 51: The Passage of Time


I think that as Christians we often times forget that while we certainly do live on earth, this is not all there is. There is a salvation that will last forever, and we hear about that in Isaiah 51.

Isa 51:4  Hearken unto me, my people; and give ear unto me, O my nation: for a law shall proceed from me, and I will make my judgment to rest for a light of the people.

Isa 51:5  My righteousness is near; my salvation is gone forth, and mine arms shall judge the people; the isles shall wait upon me, and on mine arm shall they trust.

Isa 51:6  Lift up your eyes to the heavens, and look upon the earth beneath: for the heavens shall vanish away like smoke, and the earth shall wax old like a garment, and they that dwell therein shall die in like manner: but my salvation shall be for ever, and my righteousness shall not be abolished.

In this passage, we are receiving a little bit of prophecy about Jesus. Salvation is going to come out from heaven and from God. That salvation will be forever. It is not as if heaven is going to be a vacation where you have to come back to our earthly reality eventually; it is going to be a relocation forever.

I was reading an interesting argument a little while ago from CS Lewis. He was pointing out that it is interesting that we are always surprised by how fast time seems to go by. However, he wonders why we are surprised. All we know is the relationship of past, present and future, so 35 years ought to feel like 35 years. We ought to be used to the element of time, but somehow it continually surprises us. Perhaps that indicates that our souls were created for a timeless existence. If we weren’t actually designed to be confined by the limits of time, time very well might surprise us then because we are out of the element that we were designed for.

I don’t think we always live like we believe this eternal salvation. It is kind of off somewhere in the distant future that doesn’t really matter too much. However, the fact that the matter is that it does matter, and Lewis made a solid point. Maybe we are surprised by time because we are not designed for it. In fact, we are all going to live eternally, but we need the salvation mentioned earlier in the passage if we want to spend that eternity with God.

Posted on July 22, 2014, in Isaiah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

