Jeremiah 24: God Will Keep His Word


I think that Jeremiah 24 must have been somewhat comforting to at least a portion of the people of Judah. There were national problems particularly among the leadership that ensured that the people were going to be taken captive. However, there were some people in Judah who had been faithful to God, and there was going to be a sense of justice for those people.

God presents Jeremiah with a vision of two baskets of figs. One basket was good, and the other was bad. Jeremiah asked what they were representative of, and here is the response regarding the good basket which is what I want to focus on today.

Jer 24:5  Thus saith the LORD, the God of Israel; Like these good figs, so will I acknowledge them that are carried away captive of Judah, whom I have sent out of this place into the land of the Chaldeans for their good.

Jer 24:6  For I will set mine eyes upon them for good, and I will bring them again to this land: and I will build them, and not pull them down; and I will plant them, and not pluck them up.

Jer 24:7  And I will give them an heart to know me, that I am the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart.

I think is interesting. We have prophecy here, and it is a prophecy that we know was fulfilled. The people of Judah were taken captive, but one generation later when Babylon was overrun by Persia, the people began to return to their homes.

At the time, the people must have been wondering what was going on. After all, if God really loved them, why was He allowing this captivity take place? Even with the promise of a future return, some people must have wondered if God is really going to follow through or if He had just abandoned them. Maybe Judah as a nation had fallen away for the final time.

However, God was faithful.

This ought to be evidence for us as to the character of God. God will do what He says, and He has the ability to do what He says. Even though it was would be hard to predict that within one lifetime the mighty Babylonian Empire would have fallen, God knew that it would be so. It is not as if the fact that they were a mighty empire stopped God from fulfilling His promise whatsoever.

I think that we need to live like this more often. There are also promises in the Bible that relate to us as modern-day believers (since I don’t think that many of us are looking to be rescued from Babylon except for perhaps in a figurative sense). As much as God was in the business of fulfilling promises and prophecies in the past, His character has not changed, and that ought to give us confidence as we read the Bible.

Posted on August 30, 2014, in Jeremiah and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

