Ezekiel 11: Danger Ahead


Ezekiel 11 makes me think of a hypothetical situation. I might be driving a car down the road, and somebody in the other lane starts flashing his headlights. It is rather obvious that he wants me to slow down, but I might not pay attention seeing that he is only one person. However, then the next car comes by and also flashes her lights. Now, I ought to realize that something is going on. These are separate instances, but they seem to be pointing towards the same idea; I should slow down my car.

At the beginning of Ezekiel 11, Ezekiel is being called on to be that second driver.

Eze 11:1  Moreover the spirit lifted me up, and brought me unto the east gate of the LORD’S house, which looketh eastward: and behold at the door of the gate five and twenty men; among whom I saw Jaazaniah the son of Azur, and Pelatiah the son of Benaiah, princes of the people.

Eze 11:2  Then said he unto me, Son of man, these are the men that devise mischief, and give wicked counsel in this city:

Eze 11:3  Which say, It is not near; let us build houses: this city is the caldron, and we be the flesh.

Eze 11:4  Therefore prophesy against them, prophesy, O son of man.

Verse three is mocking a prophecy of Jeremiah in Jeremiah 1:13. He was the front runner, and now Ezekiel is being told to follow-up. The people of Jerusalem did not realize everything that was coming towards them.

It’s kind of funny though. When I’m driving my car, I have no problem trusting that person who is flashing his or her headlights at me. I trust them because I assume that they would have no motivation for doing that except for trying to help me out.

The people of Jerusalem did not understand that about Jeremiah or Ezekiel even though the situations are similar. Neither one of them had anything to gain on earth by prophesying. Nobody liked them, and they were ridiculed. It is interesting that no one would realize that they had no other motive for telling the truth other than that there really was something coming ahead.

I think that is part of our responsibility as Christians. We know that there are things that are right and wrong, and we know that there are consequences for decisions. We don’t go around handing down judgment, but we do need to make sure that we are taking a stand for truth.

Posted on October 13, 2014, in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

