Ezekiel 20: Sin As Pollution


As I was reading Ezekiel 20, I was struck by how many times my Bible used the term “polluted.” I am reading from the King James Version (I like it), and it seemed like almost every other verse brought this word out and somehow pointed towards the people of Israel. Here is one example for you.

Eze 20:30  Wherefore say unto the house of Israel, Thus saith the Lord GOD; Are ye polluted after the manner of your fathers? and commit ye whoredom after their abominations?

Eze 20:31  For when ye offer your gifts, when ye make your sons to pass through the fire, ye pollute yourselves with all your idols, even unto this day: and shall I be enquired of by you, O house of Israel? As I live, saith the Lord GOD, I will not be enquired of by you.

I don’t know if Ezekiel could have had any concept of the amount of pollution that one day would occupy the earth, but when I read this, this is a very strong word. It is not as if they are just a little bit dusty or dirty. They are full on polluted. I am visualizing the ocean after an oil spill. Pollution is a big deal that radically alters the landscape and hurts everything in it.

This is how seriously God takes sin. It is something that is corrupting. It is something that necessarily separates us from God. Kind of like the pollution ruins the natural environment, sin ruins the relationship with God.

I don’t think that we always take this perspective though. I know that it is really easy for me to try to justify doing something wrong because it is no big deal. However, sin is sin, and they all separate us from God.

The silver lining of course is that even though sin is a big deal, God is also forgiving. He is faithful and just.

Posted on October 22, 2014, in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

