Ezekiel 30: Why Did God Choose Babylon?


I’ve been interested about the question as to why God would use Babylon to fulfill such a large part of His plan in Ezekiel 30 and really the entire book.

Eze 30:22  Therefore thus saith the Lord GOD; Behold, I am against Pharaoh king of Egypt, and will break his arms, the strong, and that which was broken; and I will cause the sword to fall out of his hand.

Eze 30:23  And I will scatter the Egyptians among the nations, and will disperse them through the countries.

Eze 30:24  And I will strengthen the arms of the king of Babylon, and put my sword in his hand: but I will break Pharaoh’s arms, and he shall groan before him with the groanings of a deadly wounded man.

Eze 30:25  But I will strengthen the arms of the king of Babylon, and the arms of Pharaoh shall fall down; and they shall know that I am the LORD, when I shall put my sword into the hand of the king of Babylon, and he shall stretch it out upon the land of Egypt.

Eze 30:26  And I will scatter the Egyptians among the nations, and disperse them among the countries; and they shall know that I am the LORD.

I point this out because the Babylonians were clearly not the people of God. They were polytheistic idolaters. They had a rather developed society, but it is interesting that God would use something like that country to fulfill His purpose in the world.

However, I then think about why God uses any of us to fulfill His purposes. We are all fallen people, so I don’t know why God uses us. I also don’t know why God occasionally uses difficult times to advance His purposes. I imagine that most of us have come through a difficult time where our faith was strengthened.

My point is that there are a lot of things that God chooses to use that I might not choose. I might not think that Babylon was a good choice, but it is important to remember as well that the thoughts of God are not the thoughts of humans. We cannot constrain what God can do by our own sense of what God should do. God has a purpose for choosing Babylon because He is first of all a purposeful being. He is the source of purpose.

Posted on November 1, 2014, in Ezekiel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

