Hosea 1: What Is Going on, God?


I think that Hosea must have wondered what was going on in chapter 1. God told him to marry a woman who was a prostitute. As a result, he ended up marrying Gomer, and the couple had a son. She then had two more children, a daughter and a son. However, the language is different from the verses. When the Bible mentions the first child, Hosea is directly referenced, but for the second two, he was not.

Hos 1:3  So he went and took Gomer the daughter of Diblaim; which conceived, and bare him a son.

Hos 1:6  And she conceived again, and bare a daughter. And God said unto him, Call her name Loruhamah: for I will no more have mercy upon the house of Israel; but I will utterly take them away.

Hos 1:8  Now when she had weaned Loruhamah, she conceived, and bare a son.

As you read the next chapter, you realize that she did have these children with other men. Therefore, you have to think that Hosea was wondering what on earth was going on. God told him to go marry a particular woman, but now he had to handle all of these issues that came along with that. Couldn’t God have set him up with an easier marriage?

I think that it is interesting how this seems to happen quite a bit. We think that we know what would be better. If I were Hosea, I know that I would have questioned the wisdom of God. However, when I start to think in that way, I try to keep perspective by asking myself why specifically I think that I know better than God. I try to eliminate the barrier of not understanding right now because simply a lack of understanding does not necessarily mean that someone is wrong. Just because I don’t understand quantum physics doesn’t mean that quantum physics need to disappear.

I can never really find a satisfactory reason for saying that my idea is absolutely better than God’s I might think mine is better, but I really have no good reason to believe that.

As we will see, God did indeed have a purpose for this relationship. Even though it might have been painful at the time, it was not all for nothing.

Posted on December 2, 2014, in Hosea and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

