Jonah 2: Perfect Forgiveness


God truly is a God who doesn’t quit. He doesn’t give up on anyone, and He is always ready to bring us back. In chapter 1, Jonah decided that it would be a good idea to run directly opposite to the way that God wanted him to go. However, despite that rebellion, when we get to this part of chapter 2, Jonah cries out, and God is still willing to bring him back.

Jon 2:4  Then I said, I am cast out of thy sight; yet I will look again toward thy holy temple.

Jon 2:5  The waters compassed me about, even to the soul: the depth closed me round about, the weeds were wrapped about my head.

Jon 2:6  I went down to the bottoms of the mountains; the earth with her bars was about me for ever: yet hast thou brought up my life from corruption, O LORD my God.

When Jonah was ready to come back to God, God brought him back. God brought him up from corruption. The ESV says that God brought him up from the pit. This mercy is remarkable.

Just like all of us, Jonah was a sinner. We all deserve whatever condemnation we receive. However, the amazing part is that even though we constantly offend God and go against His will, just like Jonah, He will bring us back.

Forgiveness is something special. We cannot get it ourselves. It needs to come from the potentially offended party. For example, if I hurt someone, I cannot tell them that they forgive me. They need to forgive me on their own. No matter how much I want it to happen, it needs to come from them. Unfortunately, that doesn’t always happen with people on earth. People aren’t always the most forgiving.

However, God is perfectly forgiving. It is incredible.

Posted on December 30, 2014, in Jonah and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Elaine gillard

    I don’t understand what u are saying in your last paragraph on who is to forgive

    • Hi Elaine, thanks for reaching out. I was just basically trying to lay out the idea that it is amazing that God is willing to forgive us because if He wasn’t, it is not like we can tell God that He needs to. It is His choice to forgive us as much as it is my choice to forgive someone who cut in front of me in line.

      Sorry it wasn’t clear, but let me know if that helps at all.

Leave a Reply

