Micah 7: The Atheist’s Problem of Evil


Here we are in Micah 7, and the people are in tough shape. It is not a time where you would necessarily believe in the innate goodness of humanity.

Mic 7:2  The good man is perished out of the earth: and there is none upright among men: they all lie in wait for blood; they hunt every man his brother with a net.

Mic 7:3  That they may do evil with both hands earnestly, the prince asketh, and the judge asketh for a reward; and the great man, he uttereth his mischievous desire: so they wrap it up.

Mic 7:4  The best of them is as a brier: the most upright is sharper than a thorn hedge: the day of thy watchmen and thy visitation cometh; now shall be their perplexity.

Mic 7:5  Trust ye not in a friend, put ye not confidence in a guide: keep the doors of thy mouth from her that lieth in thy bosom.

Mic 7:6  For the son dishonoureth the father, the daughter riseth up against her mother, the daughter in law against her mother in law; a man’s enemies are the men of his own house.

Mic 7:7  Therefore I will look unto the LORD; I will wait for the God of my salvation: my God will hear me.

I was listening to a debate the other day, and there was a Christian and atheist guest. The host asked the atheist guest if he had any beliefs, and he said that one of his baseline beliefs was in the goodness of humanity.

I find that hard to process. I find that hard to process because of things like this from Micah. I think about the Holocaust. I think about Apartheid. I think about things that are clearly orchestrated by humans, and I think about how it makes a lot more sense to believe that humans are actually fallen creatures who can be redeemed through Jesus Christ.

I know the argument can be made that many Nazis for example were simply brainwashed. That might be true. However, there was someone doing the brainwashing. There was someone who devised a plan to bring all of those atrocities to the earth. Perhaps he was deceived himself, but you cannot have an infinite regression. The evil began with someone.

The problem of evil is as much of a problem for the atheist who believes in the goodness of humanity and the Christian who believes in sin nature. I know that we’ve talked about it from a Christian perspective, but I think the question I would ask this particular atheist is how he can defend the assertion that there is an innate goodness in Adolf Hitler. I think that it is just as great of a challenge as what Christians are normally handed about how God can allow evil.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Micah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

